In 2010, ISEC created the Yuri Artsutanov and Jerome Pearson Prizes to help stimulate the participation of individuals around the globe in the study of space elevator related topics. The prizes are named in honor of the two original members of the space elevator community.

Yuri Artsutanov is a Russian Engineer who was the first to publish the idea of a tensile structure being used to access space in 1959. Several years later, American Engineer Jerome Pearson published his research on “Orbital Towers” where he came to the same conclusions as Yuri in a completely seperate fashion.

Each year the ISEC Board of Directors selects a Theme that is used to direct many of the activities of the organization for that year. That Theme is the required subject matter of one or both of the prizes, as determined by the ISEC Board of Directors.

Anyone who is interested can submit their original work for the Artsutanov Prize while the Pearson Prize is open only to undergraduate level students. Their work is reviewed by the ISEC Prize committee and prizes are awarded to winning papers in the amounts of $2,500 for the Artsutanov Prize and $1,500 for the Pearson Prize.

Results from the Competition are shown below.

2012 Artsutanov and Pearson Prize competition

For 2012, ISEC has decided to rework the competition schedule. In previous years, the competition topic was announced in the first quarter of the year with submissions expected by the end of the second quarter. This proved to be too challenging for most contestants, especially students. So, ISEC will announce the following years competition at the annual Space Elevator conference (normally held in August). This will give everyone, especially students, several more months to come up with a competition entry.

ISEC intends to announce the 2013 competition at the 2012 Space Elevator Conference.

It is our hope that this schedule change will result in an even more robust competition than was held in the past. Stay tuned for the 2013 Artsutanov and Pearson prize competition announcements.

2011 Artsutanov and Pearson Prize competition results

For 2011, the ISEC Theme was “”. Papers submitted for both the Pearson prize and Artsutanov prize had to be on that subject.

Again, unfortunately, there were no winners in either category for 2011. However, two papers submitted in the Artsutanov prize competition stood out from the rest and were awarded “Honorable Mentions”. These papers were:

  • MAKING AND BREAKING GRAPHITIC NANOCARBON: INSIGHTS FROM COMPUTER SIMULATIONS by Dr. Vasilii I. Artyukhov (Presenter), Dr. Boris Yakobson & Yuanyue Liu of Rice University in Houston, Texas, USA.

Congratulations to Mr. Pugno, Dr. Artyukhov, Dr. Yakobson and Ms Liu on their achievements!

2010 Artsutanov and Pearson Prize competition results

For 2010, the ISEC Theme was “Space Debris Mitigation – Space Elevator Survivability”. Papers submitted for the Pearson prize had to be on that topic, while papers submitted for the Artsutanov prize could have been on any space-elevator related subject.Unfortunately, there were no winners in either category for 2010. However, two papers submitted in the Artsutanov prize competition stood out from the rest and were awarded “Honorable Mentions”. These papers were:

  • SEVEN DEADLY ASSUMPTIONS ABOUT SPACE ELEVATORS by Mr. Gaylen Hinton of Durham, North Carolina, USA.
  • OPTIMAL DESIGN OF THE SPACE ELEVATOR TETHER by Messrs. S.A. Ambartsumian, M.V. Belubekyan and K.B. Ghazaryan of The Institute of Mechanics, National Academy of Sciences, Yerevan, Armenia.

Congratulations to Messrs. Hinton, Ambartsumian, Belubekyan and Ghazaryan on their achievements!